Author Topic: Codecs to use with DxTory  (Read 103045 times)

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2013, 07:19:40 am »
Quote
No video capture is ever "Lossless", there is simply too much data on screen to be recorded pixel perfectly
I stopped reading here. I have to comment first that before I read further.

wtf are you telling?

Lossless is LOSSLESS.

If you record in RGB even colorspace is lossless recorded. Otherwise it would be not a lossless codec.

The lossless codecs use lossless compression. simple as that. They are NOT lossy.

if you want a lossless encode by x264.

constant quantizer @ factor 0. this activates x264's lossless mode. Bitrate fixed encode is never lossless. bitrate mode uses b-frames and other lossy compression techniques. This is NOT lossless. It begins already with b-frames and p-frames which are NOT lossless. And you HAVE these. Also with insane bitrates. God damn it. Learn more about encoding before you tell so much bullshit here...

Quote
+ Has lossless & lossy options
Where ut video has lossy options? There is only compression ratio, thread amount and colorspace. Where you see a lossy mode?

Quote
LAME ACM 3.99.5 http://www.free-codecs.com/download/lame_acm_codec.htm


+Lossless audio capture at 192kbit

Made my day  ::) ;D ;D ;D

MP3 and lossless. wow.. only wow... cant even believe that you wrote that. insane ..
Quote
-only captures in Stereo

you dont need more. stereo is optimal for our purpose..
« Last Edit: May 30, 2013, 07:22:43 am by De-M-oN »

Malix

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
    • Youtube channel
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2013, 03:31:31 pm »
Quote
+ Has lossless & lossy options
Where ut video has lossy options? There is only compression ratio, thread amount and colorspace. Where you see a lossy mode?
For some reason I've always thought that YUV422 in Ut Video Codec is lossy as http://umezawa.dyndns.info/archive/utvideo/utvideo-12.2.1-readme.en.html#fourcc says that all but YUV422/420/ have a bit lower range than RGB/RGBA... but yea, you're probably right that it isn't "lossy" per se, just the colorspace conversion is. Fixing my post.

ShamisOMally

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2013, 12:20:34 pm »
I'm out

I should have known better to get into a discussion over codecs, so much epeen and people jerking themselves off to "MAH CODEC IS BETTER, UR'S SUCKZ!1!" crap all these threads fall into

Seriously, get a life, I'm thoroughly turned off from discussing codecs ever again on this forum cause people start stating their opinions as facts like rere's "MY CODEC IS BEST!" crap this thread has turned into.

This thread was supposed to be "What codecs you like and why" and like I expected and pointed out a page ago, nobody can respect other people's opinions and start bashing everything.

Go have fun with your codecs, I'll be using mine.

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2013, 07:27:18 am »
Learn to distinguish facts vs opinions.

lossy codecs are by nature lossy and shouldnt be used for capturing. Lossy compression uses more cpu power and you can only use vfw codecs for capturing. but good codecs like h.264 need a more advanced container than avi. Further thing: due to the nature that lossy compression takes way more cpu power than lossless compression you need to use fast settings.
re-encoding after your capturing your lossy material again lossy is quality-wise suboptimal.
That has nothing to do with a fucking opinion. This is an objective fact.

Why so much people arent able to distinguish facts vs opinions?

But the best thing you brought up was your statement that lossless codecs arent lossless. And that it wouldnt be possible to capture without any loss videodata.

Seriously you cant mean that serious??

And you compare by bitrate with lossless video, where bitrate is irrelevant. If a lossless codec reaches low bitrate, it makes it a good one. Because it could compress very well without doing a lossy compression.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2013, 07:31:06 am by De-M-oN »

Fish

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #19 on: June 19, 2013, 09:17:46 am »
Wow... This thread derailed. lol...


Anyways, I want to give the UT Codec a try (been using Lagarith), but when I installed it I actually got 6 codecs added to my list. Any recommendation on which one would be best for recording Youtube videos with minimal impact on framerates and HDD space? :P

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #20 on: June 19, 2013, 09:21:29 am »
420, bt601

at setting choose dividor 2.

Malix

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
    • Youtube channel
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #21 on: June 19, 2013, 02:59:25 pm »
420, bt601

at setting choose dividor 2.
any particular reason not to use bt.709?

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #22 on: June 20, 2013, 01:31:33 am »
I think you can use it as well.

The previous versions used bt601 though.

Malix

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
    • Youtube channel
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #23 on: June 20, 2013, 01:45:05 am »
afaik bt.709 has a bit better colors, and in some cases it looks a bit better than bt.601, atleast in virtualdub's RGB-cube it looked like it had less severe color banding. But dunno, the difference is quite small & could have been just a testcase where bt.709 seemed to perform better.

Quillraven

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2013, 03:32:30 pm »
Will it ever be possible to use the x64 versions of the ut video codec with dxtory?
and it seems like the 13.X version added some new codecs(?). I used YUV422 so far since i got some performance issues from time to time when i used the RGB or YUV420 codec (writespeed of harddisk is ~110MB/s ||| processor: i7 930 @ 2.8 GHz ||| 12 GB DDR3 RAM ||| GTX660TI graphiccard).
i use this codec only for "modern" pc games (like Borderlands2) and i'm recording in 1920x1080 @ 30 FPS with PCM audio 48khz stereo for ingamesound and 48khz mono for my voice (using a rode podcaster usb mic).

Should i switch to one of the newer codecs of version 13.X (i'm currently using a 12.X version)?

For SNES/Retro games i'm using the lagarith codec as well. however i had a lot of performance issues with the lagarith codec as well, that's why i'm using the ut video codec for "modern" games. for me it works better than other codecs.

I'm also having a bug the original dxtory codec. whenever i open dxtory encoded file with my media player classis my explorer.exe gets stucked and when i restart the explorer.exe process i cannot delete the dxtory video files. i can only delete one video file at a time when i restart my computer. after that i have to restart again to delete the next video file.
that was the main reason why i was searching for new codecs :)
anyone else got a similar problem with the dxtory codec?

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2013, 03:03:28 am »
Quote
Should i switch to one of the newer codecs of version 13.X (i'm currently using a 12.X version)?
you definitely should. There is finally that slowness bug of the 420 fixed ..

D-O-M

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #26 on: September 27, 2013, 06:51:43 am »
I've just registered only to say you people are unbelievable and to thank to ShamisOMally for his suggestion, thank you.

ShamisOMally

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #27 on: November 11, 2013, 01:11:19 pm »
I've just registered only to say you people are unbelievable and to thank to ShamisOMally for his suggestion, thank you.

Oh you're welcome, I'm glad I could help in some way

Zach

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #28 on: November 24, 2013, 06:36:32 am »
I just got done running a brief test with  x264vfw  and was actually pretty surprised..   I'm hoping to tweak it a little to retain as much detail as possible, and/or boost compression without  hurting the ability to record @ 30fps realtime.

But for what I got,  a 4.57GB (2.0 PCM-16bit) file for 35 minutes (give or take a few seconds) of play time,  I was quite impressed..    It sure beats  trying to tweak the game options or lowering resolution, spanning disks etc (and having to wait for those files to assemble) all just to maintain recording speed.

SidedTech

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Codecs to use with DxTory
« Reply #29 on: January 26, 2014, 11:56:16 am »
I was Googling "Best Video Codec for Dxtory" when I found this thread.

Shamus has no idea how things work. 2nd, I saw after registering that someone said that THEY registered to thank Shamus? That HAS to be Shamus talking, because although his codec is fine, it's not a better option than a lossless codec.

He sounds like a paranoid schizo with the whole pissing contest thing. No one in the thread at ANY point said that ANY codecs were bad, or in any way not OK. No pissing contest, just literally a simple schooling on the difference between lossless, and lossy, and mbits, and kbits.

I truly believe this entire thread could be one person arguing with himself with how weird I feel reading these posts.

Thank you Malix, and Sircrest.