Author Topic: Desktop recording  (Read 5793 times)

Lord Odin

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Desktop recording
« on: January 03, 2014, 12:43:20 am »
It would be nice to have a desktop recording feature.  There are few desktop recording options of any good quality and considering ShadowPlay is going to be a big problem for Dxtory, it would only make sense to offer features that SP can't offer.  Desktop recording would be an obvious choice and a very welcome addition.

hwidjaja

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2014, 11:35:13 am »
I would really love to have this feature too  :)

I bought the license with the thought that it can do desktop recording.

I just found out that it's only for games recording and I dont play games   :'(

I know I should try the trial first but I just immediately bought it after reading good reviews about dxtory.

dabomb98000

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2014, 12:57:40 pm »
This would be pretty cool to have too.
Dxtory support help. Specializing in tech support.

Black Blade

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2014, 07:51:42 pm »
Ya i do support these... right now i have to use something else for that.. but i really like to be able to just use Dxtory also for recording desktop

RobiePAX

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2014, 10:30:47 pm »
Currently I use Open Broadcaster Software (freeware) for recording Desktop so I don't really hunger for this feature in Dxtory. But this feature will surely would make additional reason why should people buy Dxtory in the future.

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2014, 07:50:46 pm »
MSI Afterburner or even virtualdub.

Why using a software which records already lossy?

Shadowplay is only able to record lossy - how can it get a problem for dxtory then?

RobiePAX

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #6 on: July 15, 2014, 11:43:31 am »
Shadowplay is only able to record lossy - how can it get a problem for dxtory then?
Most of "casual" viewers don't even see the difference between Lossless and Lossy. They only pay attention to performance, file size, features difference and side by side quality comparison. I'm afraid the term "lossy" suits these kind of casual viewers since they are accepting of a little quality "loss".

Kayten

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 14
[Request] Desktop recording
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2016, 01:19:35 am »
Even though this topic is quite old, I'd highly appreciate the ability to capture the desktop. Considering other software improperly implement this feature or just lack it completely, it might be a nice addition to Dxtory to record older games, which cannot be hooked and captured the usual way.
The only software I know to record the desktop properly (lossless + multiple audio tracks) is MSI Afterburner but starting with Windows 8 and onwards, it's malfunctioning. Instead of closing the current file and starting a new one, it just stops recording completely whenever the resolution is changed, which is quite common for older games to do (e.g. switching from the menu to the actual game).

JustFluxz

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2017, 02:42:23 am »
I am going to resurface this again, I want this too... This was one of the reasons why I was debating not getting Dxtory, right now I am stuck have to either use OBS or Action (if Action would work for once) to record my desktop while I would much rather record it all using the same program.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2017, 02:48:08 am by JustFluxz »

JustFluxz

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2017, 04:56:14 am »
Does anyone know if this is in the works? I would really like to have my desktop recording and gameplay recordings to be done within the same software.

Takedown

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 273
Re: Desktop recording
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2017, 11:35:54 am »
This may not be ideal, but here is a workaround for now :
http://forum.exkode.com/index.php?topic=2400.0
Using Windows 10 ?  Try the latest version first http://exkode.com/dxtory-downloads-en.html