Author Topic: [Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support  (Read 2959 times)

icez

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 18
[Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support
« on: October 19, 2015, 10:24:06 pm »
Is it possible to add the option of using hardware accelerated video encoding like Mirilis Action does? It would be a major improvement to the software since the performance while recording is improved a lot when using hardware enconding. In my case I would use NVENC since I have a NVIDIA card.

With hardware accelerated video encoding We can record a MP4\H264 files using NVENC\Intel Quicksync or AMD APP and the impact in framerates would be close to 0 while the file would be small, like when recorded with Shadowplay and Action.

Thanks!

chronosek

  • Soldier
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: [Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2015, 09:08:14 pm »
Shadowplay using internal nvidia hacks, that why it have no impact on fps, all others 3rd party recording software will have few fps drop cause of hooking frames, dxtory have smallest impact... You would only hardware accelerated encoding if compression take all cpu power and slower your game, i record with ut video, what taking like 10% of cpu, with x264 vfw it take like 30%, still with game it never goes for 100% so it never slow the game ... besides nvenc have ugly quality, better using x264 vfw... If you have big impact you have bad codec or bad settings with it.
If you want hardware accelerated dxtory better wrote to nvidia to do nvenc vfw standalone codec, i am sure dxtory would use it
« Last Edit: October 20, 2015, 09:13:21 pm by chronosek »
Old Comp Spec: Zalman T4 Mini Tower, Chieftec 750W PS, Gigabyte GA-Z97M-D3H mobo, Intel i7-4790k @4.8GHz proc, Corsair h80i cooler, GoodRam 32GB PC3-12800 ddr3, Gigabyte Geforce 980 GTX 4GB gddr5, 2x 512GB Samsung SSD 840 pro, SoundBlaster ZxR sound, beyerdynamic 990DT pro, Windows 10 Pro x64

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: [Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2015, 09:59:19 am »
That wont happen. Nvidia rather reacts like this:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4983364&postcount=5

PS: For me Unwinder's MSI Afterburner is less fps drop than dxtory.

I use UTVideo too.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2015, 10:01:05 am by De-M-oN »

icez

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: [Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2015, 03:46:48 pm »
That wont happen. Nvidia rather reacts like this:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4983364&postcount=5

PS: For me Unwinder's MSI Afterburner is less fps drop than dxtory.

I use UTVideo too.

But Afterburner doesn`t record in multiple separated audio track like Dxtory. And with UT codec I`m having some impact on CPU usage, something like 30% on my i7 @4ghz. I`m currently using MagicYUV with Dxtory.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2015, 03:47:33 pm by icez »

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: [Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2015, 06:23:24 am »
Quote
But Afterburner doesn`t record in multiple separated audio track like Dxtory
it does.

icez

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: [Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2015, 01:19:52 am »
Quote
But Afterburner doesn`t record in multiple separated audio track like Dxtory
it does.

It record in game sound and Mic as far as I know... Dxtory I can record 2 outputs + mic.

De-M-oN

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 166
Re: [Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2015, 06:16:34 am »
DXTory allows up to 8 audiotracks
Afterburner up to 2.

But 2 is for normal usage enough. Normally you dont record more than sound and microphone.

For what you need 2 outputs? VAC?

icez

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: [Request] Hardware accelerated video encoding support
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2015, 10:35:51 pm »
DXTory allows up to 8 audiotracks
Afterburner up to 2.

But 2 is for normal usage enough. Normally you dont record more than sound and microphone.

For what you need 2 outputs? VAC?

Yes...