Author Topic: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?  (Read 8774 times)

ShamisOMally

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 42
[Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« on: February 26, 2014, 01:23:53 am »
Is there a chance to get AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support since they are hardware encoders that are now open source, and can be used for encoding videos on the fly vs loading our CPU's?

ShamisOMally

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2014, 01:50:58 am »
Oh!

AMD VCE codec support was, again, done by masternobody! God bless the man!

Anyways, to start, I'm doing testing with the codec right now, but here is where you get it for AMD VCE support https://github.com/jackun/openencodevfw

*UPDATE1* It works amazing! I get ZERO CPU Load when using the AMD VCE h264 codec, and at the same quality to boot!

I'll do some more tests and publish best settings in a bit

*UPDATE2* Review and settings of AMD GPU hardware encoding H.264 codec here http://forum.exkode.com/index.php?topic=640.0
« Last Edit: February 26, 2014, 05:18:22 am by ShamisOMally »

zerowalker

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2014, 07:57:10 am »
Now this is very interesting, i prefer lossless overall, but i have noticed how useful lossy/transparent codecs can be in certain recording cases, especially for ones with high internet speed (you don't need to re-encode).

And didn't know AMD and Nvidia had made there internal hardware encoders open source, this is extremely good, even though they are limited compared to the software editions, you can probably achieve quite good transparency.


I am trying to test it, however it doesn't seem to work for me, i am using virtualdub and trying different settings, but i just get error-4.

got an 6970 AMD.

EDIT:

Okay from searching on it, it seems that it was introduced in the 78xx series, to bad, but then again i am not too surprised as this is quite new to me, at least in this way.
Really hope this improves and grow, as off loading encodes during live recording is extremely useful.

If you could give me an example video, like 10 sec, lossless, and some encoded with AMD VCE at different bitrates etc, it would be nice, quite interested in what quality it achieves.
« Last Edit: April 26, 2014, 08:04:17 am by zerowalker »

ShamisOMally

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2014, 02:13:49 am »
Sure I can do that Zerowalker, give me a bit

zerowalker

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2014, 01:06:23 pm »
Great, am mostly interested in the highest settings, as i have 100mbit connection i can often encode in high bitrates to make it transparent and upload it, preventing any uneeded loss in quality.
But normal bitrates may also be useful to look at, it's probably quite a bit worse then x264, but as long as it's within 20-30% i would say it's acceptable.

ShavedApe

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 26
Re: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2014, 12:25:40 am »
Cant seem to access your review thread ShamisOMally I have Nvidia so its more out of interest than it is because I want to try it for myself. I would like to see the nvidia version of course but I am told by reliable sources that nvidia will be adding multiple audio sources to shadowplay in the not too distant future and if that happens much as I love dxtory I will no longer need it.

ShamisOMally

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« Reply #6 on: June 12, 2014, 08:25:11 am »
Cant seem to access your review thread ShamisOMally I have Nvidia so its more out of interest than it is because I want to try it for myself. I would like to see the nvidia version of course but I am told by reliable sources that nvidia will be adding multiple audio sources to shadowplay in the not too distant future and if that happens much as I love dxtory I will no longer need it.

I'll remake it for you in a bit, busy ATM

Smagjus

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« Reply #7 on: July 12, 2014, 12:01:19 am »
Is there anything about NVENC support yet?

I don't use Dxtory anymore because its own codec is extremely inefficient while Lagarith costs me too many FPS. I am using OBS now because of that.

My system is an i7-4930k and a GTX670 if anyone is wondering.

AngelNewman

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [Request} AMD VCE or Nvidia NVENC support?
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2016, 09:42:50 pm »
Yeah your right dxtory doesn't support VCE adn never did, thought they did.


« Last Edit: December 21, 2016, 09:44:41 pm by AngelNewman »