Author Topic: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec  (Read 8097 times)

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« on: March 29, 2014, 09:57:13 am »
I had high hopes of using DxTory for recording videos however when I tired to add media to my timeline in Movie Studio 13, it would crash. I tired some experimenting with the other codec's other than DxTory Codec but those codec's are by far the most horrendous visuals I have ever seen. They did not record in color, and it was completely depixelated. However, is there a way that I can change the codec of DxTory to something that Movie Studio likes or am i limited to what I get. I would love to use DxTory over Fraps for the soul reason of individual track for voice over the video. I like that it is separate and not conjoined into one file.

Please let me know. Thanks.

ExKoder

  • Administrator
  • Saint
  • *****
  • Posts: 1204
    • ExKode
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2014, 12:32:25 pm »
Please submit a Environment Information.

http://forum.exkode.com/index.php?topic=2.0

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2014, 12:45:44 pm »
Oh, okay. I think this is it.
I don't know if you wanted other information as well.

I am trying to used Sony Vegas Movie Studio 13

My hardware is:
AMD 6 Core, 3.5 GHz processor.
8GB RAM
Nvidia GTX 650 w/ 2GB

Please let me know if I left anything out.
[Dxtory]
Version: 2.0.125
UID: 645c258a-11e9-4a22-92b0-47aa01ac7223

[Dxtory Files]
InstallPath: D:\Dxtory2.0
AppNames.txt Size: 995 bytes SHA1: a1520661f2f0a5e82aeccd5dc02d5187a7b24943
AudioStreamSplitter.exe Size: 37,424 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.1 SHA1: a2a2c79530d8b6bf8a2babdcf1efba3e5584c0ad
AudioStreamSplitter_ja.txt Size: 134 bytes SHA1: 489a5264d73a47edcce7c92edb131cf63e5e5709
AVIFix.exe Size: 72,192 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.119 SHA1: 7a09d66397e59a821aa710e53f9e241f77a7792a
AVIFix_ja.txt Size: 288 bytes SHA1: 9cab20780686687b84f604c77c73aaae3fd8126d
AVIMux.exe Size: 161,280 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.120 SHA1: 5196d86b22e66459b4dececc675099f8dd16422b
AVIMuxCore.dll Size: 178,176 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.3 SHA1: 77f91e5cbdb6516492937b09e8779fbfce339ad0
AVIMux_ja.txt Size: 1,701 bytes SHA1: fa240715d701f450bb95377aa8517a252329b619
CryptData.pup Size: 84 bytes SHA1: cf9d724807f965d372da4d168bebd78c5258d6ae
Dxtory.exe Size: 570,368 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.125 SHA1: 525516aa4c15b8ebcdc9d8b288928df4cba741fe
Dxtory64.exe Size: 65,024 bytes Ver: 1.0.0.60 SHA1: 14e3f06e6f2afb2dcb8dec2813586253fc58d86b
DxtoryCore.dll Size: 6,742,156 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.125 SHA1: 99b1388239d7cd32d65614ff00f25fa2e6d1edf7
DxtoryCore64.dll Size: 6,453,900 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.125 SHA1: 26cc28c4dd64553d8fe991eddc943d607f2fa271
DxtoryHK.dll Size: 150,156 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.124 SHA1: 16f78b14d2139516c88b0904b0ffd43ee3d4eb6e
DxtoryHK64.dll Size: 169,612 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.124 SHA1: acccb46eb07467a7db8f5e54806f85686c7e9ad3
DxtoryMM.dll Size: 1,053,696 bytes Ver: 1.0.0.1 SHA1: 82eeaf2ec6ddd70f887ea5e20a80be718600b230
DxtoryMM64.dll Size: 1,054,208 bytes Ver: 1.0.0.1 SHA1: c142da021338ef96d13dc82c70c6ba2a443d1108
DxtoryVideo.dll Size: 273,408 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.97 SHA1: b9c1ff13a061e189affef9ae37f5ae142450b189
DxtoryVideo64.dll Size: 303,616 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.97 SHA1: 497ef3f62908d7a1f9362fc347198b900fc7c131
DxtoryVideo64_Install.bat Size: 28 bytes SHA1: 308ae1e37b5e28ff7134beb319faad48280068b0
DxtoryVideo64_Uninstall.bat Size: 31 bytes SHA1: 3fbf8d3c3a5b375eda07e47a64534b91c8df5139
DxtoryVideoSetting.exe Size: 122,368 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.119 SHA1: adb248b7eca7001e64ba19054807ab6556126a87
DxtoryVideoSetting_ja.txt Size: 1,675 bytes SHA1: e532f36bd5ac6255659d240180637484661f0c83
DxtoryVideo_Install.bat Size: 26 bytes SHA1: b00e69772cc1cae9e86fe2b70ca290c488723fd7
DxtoryVideo_Uninstall.bat Size: 29 bytes SHA1: 0b0202cbc7fba373f42e1a6916fc2ad01edaa627
Dxtory_ja.txt Size: 17,473 bytes SHA1: 279546d8f8ea418fd9fb48d357986103d5bf5b4c
EULA_en.txt Size: 1,356 bytes SHA1: 340c6b3425ab78d83c6a8bd344b6cc58d152ce8f
EULA_ja.txt Size: 1,814 bytes SHA1: cded0d38ec6a1cb0e86bc264496deaa28082cb51
ignore_module_list.txt Size: 869 bytes SHA1: f6a46a018ba765bf7a11afba8e284b503b82914b
LicReg.dat Size: 5,146 bytes SHA1: b1a7c6d37910795b25d0c942b649a4608db3d9e6
LicReg.exe Size: 90,112 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.3 SHA1: d68fe1f3b1eb8c3a3e66af99810835f43ca40c59
LicReg_ja.txt Size: 707 bytes SHA1: 981af64897276c22867952f4972d9c29c6ee35e7
RawCapConv.exe Size: 203,264 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.119 SHA1: d214e73cdeb07a46ec7c022068aa8a0ee8d2690f
RawCapConv_ja.txt Size: 1,869 bytes SHA1: 12086976f07abfc8d435abeee6c450c3cb2b07cd
RCStream.dll Size: 164,352 bytes Ver: 1.0.0.76 SHA1: 31266452f142cd7c856384945ffc410b2c9c8be9
readme.txt Size: 1,322 bytes SHA1: f8b7e31de7927309f7f3e03936374837906a94d9
Src16x10_Dest4x3.png Size: 40,081 bytes SHA1: 3b4f6332b8b3129ee351a9c96a9c4ac7f6f7a4cd
Src16x9_Dest4x3.png Size: 40,179 bytes SHA1: fcec824f4e95f7becf65bbabcc1a99c1470b99a1
unins000.dat Size: 19,282 bytes SHA1: 08e6304d8706725328ef5545a6e75d7a272088cd
unins000.exe Size: 1,195,568 bytes Ver: 51.1052.0.0 SHA1: 960a68842c1eb3868f1df3664064b560dc393ff6
unins000.msg Size: 22,701 bytes SHA1: ab7961d64f8b22503c9c7ca4b335fa539b0278a3
UpdateChecker.exe Size: 93,696 bytes Ver: 2.0.0.0 SHA1: 221bd3663f4393b368ebf74d1a892f9379ddbe44
UpdateChecker.ini Size: 238 bytes SHA1: 796da23b4a505bf2ef370dc271d1a80585dff6e2
UpdateChecker_ja.txt Size: 190 bytes SHA1: 969913786a3497f3e448572f7810ee9814314928

[System Information]
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor             
CPU Instruction Set: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2 AVX SSE4a SSE5
OS: Microsoft Windows 8.1 x64
OSVersion: 6.3.9600
OSLanguage: 1033
ServicePack:
Memory0: BANK1 4,294,967,296 bytes
Memory1: BANK3 4,294,967,296 bytes
TotalMemory: 8,589,934,592 bytes
Total Physical Memory: 8,491,966,464 bytes
Available Physical Memory: 3,262,504,960 bytes
Total Page File: 11,444,756,480 bytes
Available Page File: 2,699,132,928 bytes
Total Virtual Memory: 2,147,352,576 bytes
Available Virtual Memory: 1,785,823,232 bytes
PerformanceCounterFrequency: 3703664 (0x388370)
VideoCard: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 650 Ti  Memory: 2,147,483,648 Processor: GeForce GTX 650 Ti DriverVer: 9.18.13.3523 DriverDate: 2014-03-03 18-00-00
Display0: 1920x1080 32bits 60Hz
SoundDevice: NVIDIA High Definition Audio Manufacturer: NVIDIA
SoundDevice: High Definition Audio Device Manufacturer: Microsoft
SoundDevice: HD Webcam C270 Manufacturer: Logitech
SoundDevice: NVIDIA Virtual Audio Device (Wave Extensible) (WDM) Manufacturer: NVIDIA

[Audio Device]
Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device) - CoreAudioOut
Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device) - CoreAudioOut
ASUS VS229-4 (NVIDIA High Definition Audio) - CoreAudioOut
Speakers (High Definition Audio Device) - CoreAudioOut
Microphone (HD Webcam C270) - CoreAudioIn, Volume 85

[Video Codec]
Dxtory Video Codec FCC:xtor
Cinepak Codec by Radius FCC:cvid
Fraps Video Decompressor FCC:fps1
Intel IYUV codec FCC:iyuv
Logitech Video (I420) FCC:i420
Microsoft RLE FCC:mrle
Microsoft Video 1 FCC:msvc

[Audio Codec]
Microsoft GSM 6.10
Microsoft CCITT G.711
Microsoft IMA ADPCM
MS-ADPCM
PCM
IEEE Float

[License Information]
License: Trial

[Additional Information]
Dxtory_log.txt: Empty
ErrorLog.txt: Available Size=6566

[Global Setting]
OptionFlag=

[Ignore List]

======================================================================

[Profile]
Name: Default
Path:

[Overlay]
Option: Left Top VidoeFPS WriteFileFPS RecordState
Color: Sleep FF00FF00, Active FFFFBC00, Movie  FF00FF00, ScreenShot FF00FF00

[Folder]
x D:\Videos\DxTory Trial and Error  Speed: 126MB/sec  Free: 855,824,273,408 Total: 1,000,202,039,296 Format: NTFS
SSFolder:

[HotKey]
MovieCapture: Num Lock (0x00010045)
PushToTalk: None
ScreenShotSingle: F11 (0x00000057)
ScreenShotRepeat: None
ScreenShotAuto: None
ToggleStatus: None
MovieCaptureFrame: None
ScreenShotCaptureFrame: None

[Movie]
Clipping:
ClipMargin: 0,0,0,0
ClipSize: 0,0
Scaling: Percent 100% 0x0
Codec: Dxtory Video Codec, YUV410 Compress
FrameRate: 30
Output: File AVI
Option: IncludeCursor IncludeOverlay

[Audio0]
Enabled: True
PushToTalk: False
Device: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
Codec: PCM
Format: PCM 48000 Hz, 24 bit, Stereo

[ScreenShot]
Clipping:
ClipMargin: 0,0,0,0
ClipSize: 0,0
Scaling: Percent 100% 0x0
HighSpeedLimit: 0
RepeatInterval: 1000
Format: PNG
JpegQuality: 97
Option:

[Advanced]
Option:
ThreadCount: 1
LimitedFPS: False
FPSLimit: 60
DelayHook: False
DelayHookTime: 5

======================================================================

[Profile]
Name: Skyrim
Path: D:\SteamLibrary\SteamApps\common\Skyrim\TESV.exe

[LastUsingInformation]
DateTime: 2014/03/28 21:11:12
DeviceType: OGL DX7 DX9
View0.Type=DX9
View0.DevType=D3DDEVTYPE_HAL
View0.BhFlags=D3DCREATE_MULTITHREADED D3DCREATE_PUREDEVICE D3DCREATE_HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING
View0.Format=D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8
View0.Size=1920x1080
View0.HWND=0x003E052C
View0.WindowTitle=Skyrim
View0.ClassName=Skyrim

======================================================================
VerifyHash: cbf4241b81f147a71b7b35484876e5048285b213
« Last Edit: March 29, 2014, 12:50:01 pm by VisheraGaming »

ExKoder

  • Administrator
  • Saint
  • *****
  • Posts: 1204
    • ExKode
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2014, 10:09:44 pm »
I confirmed that it operates normally on Movie Studio 12.

Please uninstall them, if old Dxtory is installed.
And install the latest Dxtory.

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2014, 01:09:49 am »
Can you confirm if it works on Movie Studio 13?

RobiePAX

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2014, 02:15:01 am »
Can you confirm if it works on Movie Studio 13?
I can confirm that Dxtory works fine on Movie Studio 13 and it does not crash. I'd advice you to install Lagarith Lossless Codec, then select this codec in Dxtory, record some new footage and then try again to importing this footage into Movie Studio.

If it will crash again I think it's possible that your codecs are screwed up. I would recommend then try to install K-Lite Codec Pack, if anything is wrong with your codecs then this installation will repair them.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2014, 02:18:35 am by RobiePAX »

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2014, 08:41:15 am »
I have tried the Losless codec however that seriously impacted my frame rate for recording, (well below 15 FPS) and it still did not work when importing to Movie Studio. I will try the other one you mentioned though. Thanks for the suggestion.

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2014, 08:55:59 am »
I'm not 100% sure I did exactly what was needed with the codec tweek tool. I just clicked on fix, and selected yes for everything. However when back in recording with DxTory using the DxTory codec, it still crashes. I do believe this is more of a Movie Studio problem than it is a DxTory problem. I shouldn't have bought from Sony... :( Waste of money. However it's already bought, no returns... I'm stuck with it and must get it fixed. But Sony won't help.

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2014, 09:07:45 am »
I have installed the MPEG-4 codec, and even used that with DxTory, still Movie Studio Crashes. I am fairly sure it's not a DxTory Problem. Windows Movie Maker can take the DxTory codec just fine, however it decreases quality to like 144 p. Yuck...


RobiePAX

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2014, 05:50:59 am »
Yeah it sounds like an issue with your video editor, you should try uninstalling it and downloading the latest version. Make sure the path letters where you installed both Movie Studio and Dxtory have only latin letters, no gibberish like "ポストを行" (example: C:\Program Files (x86)\Dxtory).

Also it seems you are not the first person who is experiencing crashes upon importing Dxtory files into the timeline in Studio 13. It's hard to say why some people have it, some not. I would advice you to try Handbrake to work around your issue, it's a free transcoder that will reduce your videos file size to the minimum without destroying the quality(unless you mess around with settings). Try putting your footage through Handbrake, maybe footage will become compatible with Movie Studios. You can even tell Handbrake not to mess with quality at all, simply re-encode it.

If I were you I'd also ask around if it's possible to return the software license back because it's not properly working for your purpose. Adobe Premiere Pro(expensive but unlimited version) and Adobe Premiere Elements(more limited but cheaper version) surely don't have these crashing issues and are a lot more new user friendly than any of Sony stuff. Good luck, I hope Handbrake will temporarily solve your issue until you get a compatible editor.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 05:53:39 am by RobiePAX »

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2014, 07:34:59 am »
I'm fairly sure Sony screwed me out of $50 and will not accept a return. I am receiving 0 help from Sony at all, either on 2 different Emails, 3 different Sony Support Twitter accounts, and on the Sony forums, 0... ZERO help from them.
I asked for a return just not, and told them that the product did not work like I remember with Movie Studio 12. I'm fairly certain that Adobe has better service than Sony, however. I initially thought with how big Sony is as a company, (Tablets, computers, Smartphones, software, movie production, ect.) that they would be good in service. Never in my life have I seen such horrible service.

Though I don't want to subscribe to Adobe as that could be expensive, I just want this to be a fairly inexpensive hobby of mine. Right now, I think I will stick to Windows Movie maker, and if I decide I enjoy making gaming videos I may get Adobe. The thing about WMM is it's so limited. I can barely make transitions, or change the audio of a voice over, or let alone add 2 tracks to a clip, because there's only one timeline. ugh...

Thanks for your help. I'll update this thread if I have any update on Sony. This will surely be the last Sony product I ever buy. (I was considering their Windows 8 Tablet, but I think I'll get a Surface)

RobiePAX

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2014, 01:36:54 pm »
Technically they didn't screw you over, and most likely they are going to use this excuse in their response that their editor is "designed for real-life footage editing from video cameras", not gaming footage captured by the software. If I were you and would want to get a refund, I wouldn't mention that you are trying to edit a gaming footage. Simply claim that you purchased Movie Studios from them, and you are receiving these crashes when you try to import your footage, your hardware meets the minimum requirements. So tell them either to find a solution to fix your crashes, or give a refund for selling a broken software.

As for Adobe I didn't mean subscribe to their CC model. I meant to buy a one time license. Here are few on Amazon:

Adobe Premiere Elements 12 $69.99
Adobe Premiere Elements 11 $59.99
Adobe Premiere Elements 9  $39.99
Adobe Premiere Elements 8 $19.99
Adobe Premiere Elements 7  $9.33

Unfortunatelly I've asked a friend of mine who still uses Premiere 8. He says only Fraps(also capture software) footage works on this version, Dxtory is not being processed. I'll check info if 9th version has any issues with Dxtory too. Also it would be useful to know which codec do you prefer to always use when you are recording your Dxtory footage?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2014, 01:39:16 pm by RobiePAX »

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2014, 09:35:48 pm »
Thanks a lot. Surely those prices are much better than the new high end things they are currently selling.

RobiePAX

  • Monster
  • ****
  • Posts: 274
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #13 on: April 01, 2014, 04:33:51 am »
Well it's same as Sony.

Sony has - Vegas Pro which might cost you over 400$, obviously they are designed for movie producers and generally companies. And they have Movie Studio which is a scaled-down version of Vegas Pro that costs 50-100$. Naturally second one is a consumer version.
Adobe has - Premiere Pro, again ridiculously expensive version for companies. And Premiere Elements a scaled-down version for consumers.

I would like to expand what I said earlier about Premiere Elements 8. I had doubts about my friend's claim since Elements 8 is not that ancient software not to support Dxtory, I have downloaded Elements 8 trial to test it myself. My friend was only partly right. Yes Dxtory - Lagarith RGBA, YUY2, YV12 formats and many other codecs are not being recognised by Premiere 8, sometimes it even crashed on me upon importing. However the following codecs worked fine, and Premiere 8 processed them and rendered the video without issues: Dxtory Codec - YUV410, Lagarith - RGB, Packbit Lossless Codec.

Out of these three, Packbit Codec showed the best performance/quality value followed by Dxtory YUV410. Lagarith RGB showed worst result, even 20% skipped frames(because this codec shines best only with YV12 format, but sadly it's not compatible with this editor). So if you will be getting Premiere 8, then I advice trying out Packbit codec. I would also advice trying it out on your current Sony Studio, you never know. Also I know it's a pretty noob thing to say, but make sure when you are importing new footage which you are testing out on crashes, that you delete old footage which already caused crashed in your previous tests. It's enough for editor to attempt to read incompatible file to crash.

P.S. NEVER BUY software without testing it out the Trial version. You never know what you might not like in it.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2014, 04:39:25 am by RobiePAX »

VisheraGaming

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Movie Studio 13 Does NOT support DxTory Codec
« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2014, 07:39:02 am »
I'll try out that codec you suggested, but I tried out so many that I am just expecting it to fail.
How about Adobe Elements 12, I have heard that 13 is bad, so maybe AE12 would be alright and it's not that much more that Sony Movie Maker, assuming I'll get my money back.