Author Topic: [feature request] multiple push-to-talk keys  (Read 4144 times)

polaris202

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
[feature request] multiple push-to-talk keys
« on: June 29, 2013, 03:49:20 am »
Hello,

it would be great to have the possibility to assign multiple push-to-talk keys for microfone recording.

I love to play Arma 2 with the modification ACRE, which is a talk and radio simulation for Arma2. You have to use 2 different keys for talking. One for speaking to the person next to you, and the other for sending radio messages. This mod is very popular among Arma players and the standard on many Arma game servers.

And another example: Sometimes I have to use 2 push-to-talk keys in teamspeak too. For communication between different squads, using different TS-channels, via wisperlists.

For now I just can record all I talk together. Ignoring the nice push-to-talk option. But I have all my breathing and ambient sound recorded too then.

It would be very useful to have an option like that.


Thank you! And for the great Dxtory program too. :)

« Last Edit: June 29, 2013, 03:51:07 am by polaris202 »

necromancer

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [feature request] multiple push-to-talk keys
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 08:56:08 am »
i second that.
i use dxtory to record gameplay, and i use TS with Channel Commander plugin.
so i have a PTT key to talk to the channel, and a second PTT to talk to the Channel Commander group.
i set Dxtory PTT to the same key as the TS PTT, but it doesn't record my voice when transmitting over Channel Commander, as its a different key.

i suggest that instead of using a global PTT set up in 'HotKey settings', set the option to define a PTT in the same tab of the audio device.
this way every audio device gets a PTT, and in case you want more then one PTT to the same audio device, just add the same device twice, and set a different key in each instance.
and if you want to record all audio devices with one PTT, just set the same PTT to all of your audio devices.

Knobee

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [feature request] multiple push-to-talk keys
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 06:37:01 am »
it would be great to have the possibility to assign multiple push-to-talk keys for microfone recording.

I would also like to request this feature for the exact same reason...

Knobee

MyNickName

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: [feature request] multiple push-to-talk keys
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2013, 05:55:54 am »
i actually just made a forum account and made a thread about it and now i find this :D

i have the same problem with ACRE

RePlay.be

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [feature request] multiple push-to-talk keys
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2013, 10:48:00 pm »
I too have made a forum account to second this request.

PlanetSide 2 also has multiple keys for different voice channels: proximity voice, squad voice, platoon voice.

And I definitely agree with this, as it seems to be the most flexible solution:
i suggest that instead of using a global PTT set up in 'HotKey settings', set the option to define a PTT in the same tab of the audio device.
this way every audio device gets a PTT, and in case you want more then one PTT to the same audio device, just add the same device twice, and set a different key in each instance.
and if you want to record all audio devices with one PTT, just set the same PTT to all of your audio devices.

I also found this other, older thread: http://forum.dxtory.com/index.php?topic=1389.0

Edit: and also this thread: http://forum.exkode.com/index.php?topic=186.0

« Last Edit: August 04, 2013, 10:56:02 pm by RePlay.be »

Morgan

  • Noob
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: [feature request] multiple push-to-talk keys
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2013, 05:47:13 am »
I would love to see this added as well.

 So that I could add my microphone twice under my audio settings. The first one I could set to record with caps lock, the second one set when I press the tab key. It would save a lot of time while editing the file later on as now I have to go through the entire audio to remove ambient audio sounds when I'm not using the microphone since it needs to be always on.